TEDx: Being a Rootless Third Culture Kid

Hi there.

Today’s video is another Ted Talk. Specifically, this talk comes from from TedXUofL’s February conference titled “Interconnected.” The speaker is Benjamin Self, a TCK whose topic is about the degree of rootlessness that his upbringing caused. His childhood habit of moving increased further during adulthood and led him to realize an unfavorable outcome, one he suggests might not plague just TCKs and CCKs, but a greater population as well. “…in part because of my wonderful childhood, I’ve nevertheless been suffering from a kind of debilitating condition which is … what I call a weak local connectivity, or network connectivity.”

This talk includes some intriguing quotes that certainly got me reevaluating my current ideas about being connected to whomever happens to be in my current (face-to-face) social circle. Perhaps one of my favorite quotes from this talk (also quoted by Self) is, “I’ve started to realize that all this moving and traveling is like flirting with life. It’s like saying, ‘I would stay and love you, but I have to go. This is my station.’”

While I will admit that it was somewhat difficult to watch (when I hear someone try to briefly explain Third Culture Kids to a general audience, there is always a great struggle to convey a great deal of information in a short period of time), his final point and ending message are noteworthy. I encourage you to take a look.

Share your thoughts

